The Glenesk Retreat opened for the 2011 season on April 2 with a new manager, Anna Robson, and has welcomed many visitors every weekend since.
Although Anna lives out of the Glen, she has many happy memories of spending time in Glenesk as a child, visiting relatives. She has returned to the Retreat in a management role, ten years after her first waitressing experience at the age of seventeen.
In the intervening years Anna has gained business experience through running her own business and is delighted to return to the Retreat.
The Glenesk Retreat was built around 1840 by Sea Captain Wemyss, a friend of Baron Panmure, who owned the Glen. He built this low stone building as a retreat from his life at sea.
After Captain Wemyss’ death in 1854 the Retreat was rented out as a farm house, used as a shooting lodge, a holiday home and underwent several extensions. In 1955 Greta Michie, a local school teacher, set up a folk museum which opened to the public on June 15th.
Since then the Retreat has been run by a Trust and relied greatly on donations to support the running and expansion of the establishment.
Today at the Retreat you can visit the Folk Museum, Gift Shop and Tea Room/Restaurant.
Located 9 miles up the Glen the Retreat is set in a glorious location, surrounded by hills, rivers and a beautiful countryside.
The land of Glenesk is used mostly for game shooting and sheep farming. There are many features to visit including the Retreat. Visitors will enjoy the many lovely walks, and at the top of the Glen lies Invermark Castle and the Queens well. It is an ideal place to spot wildlife, including birds of pray, and gives visitors a chance to home their photography skills.
The Retreat has a full diary of events taking place this season. On Easter Sunday children will have the opportunity to paint and roll eggs, make easter crafts, have their faces painted and join in the easter egg hunt. The restaurant will be serving a Sunday Roast and taking table bookings from 12 till 7:30pm.
Anna is very keen to try out her new ideas at the retreat, so keep your eyes and ears open for a variety of additional events. The Retreat is currently open weekends and public holidays and will open full time on May 16th. For further information please call 01356 648070.