Around the clubs

'Loreto Prague' by June Gold
'Loreto Prague' by June Gold

Send yours to

Mearns Probus Club

There have been two events in December to finish up for 2015.

The first was the A.G.M. held to cover the events of the past year, with reports from the President, Treasurer and Secretary.

Elections for the new office bearers were then held, with the following members being appointed for 2016:

President: Denis Bell, Vice President: Bill Sommerville, Immediate Past President: Malcolm McCoig, Treasurer: Ian Davidson, Secretary: Ian M Bell, Committee: Peter Reilly and Alistair Reid

The morning concluded with a short talk and presentation on Aden Park Mintlaw, but mainly dealing with the farm of Hareshowe in the park.

This farm with its buildings and farmhouse were transferred to the park from its original site some 8 miles away.

It is a reminder of the many small farms that once existed in the North East of Scotland. All the fittings and household wares are all present for viewing by visitors.

The second event was the Annual Christmas Dinner, where the members of the Ladies Club were invited to join the Mearns Probus (Mens) Club for dinner.

The result was 62 members in total, enjoyed a festive meal in the Dickson Hall Laurencekirk, with the catering being organised by local caterer Hilda Herald and her voluntary helpers.

This concluded our meeting for 2015, and we now look forward to a busy and entertaining, as well as educational meetings and visits throughout 2016.

Laurencekirk Rotary

Allan Smith , President of Laurencekirk Rotary Club, presented two prestigious Community Awards at the Club’s Christmas Dinner.

Norman Robertson who resides in Laurencekirk was awarded the accolade for his outstanding voluntary work in the Denlethen Woods, watering all the High Street hanging baskets and the Railway containers and his other many voluntary gardening and street tasks that he cheerfully undertakes.

Grant Ritchie from St Cyrus was the other recipient.

He is a real whirlwind and has done a massive amount of voluntary work in the coastal village.

Local football, a Hogmanay Family Party, the annual Gala and the spectacular “Carnage at the Castle “ firework display have all benefited from Grant’s enthusiasm and volunteering energy.

Rotarians Isobel Smith and Jim Brown introduced the Award winners and spoke of their huge contributions to their communities and their worthiness of public recognition.

Catterline WRI

President Mrs K Irvine welcomed members, mums and children to our Christmas patry.

Members were invited to bring along their children and grandchildren.

Everyone had a fun evening, taking part in party games such as musical arms, pass the parcel, musical bumps, grand old duke of York and musical statues.

Santa arrived with a sack full of presents for the children.

Everyone enjoyed refreshments and ice-cream and jelly.

Mrs Glenda Stenhouse judged the monthly competition:- Fridge magnet 1st = Mrs K Irvine and Mrs E Garden, 2nd Mrs E Meston, 3rd Mrs A Meston and 4th Mrs E Gibson.

The evening finished with everyone singing Christmas songs.

Our next meeting will be held in Catterline Primary School on January 21 at 7.30pm where Tracy Millar will give a talk on her visit to Nepal. All welcome.

Tewel WRI

Mary Tennent, president welcomed members to our Christmas party in the Invercarron Resouce Centre where we enjoyed a beautiful meal, prepared by Jane and served up by Shona, after which we had games by members Gwen Smutch and Margaret Ross and readings by Mary Donald and Nora Fry.

Each member brought a secret santa gift and the best wrapped was won by Jean Jamieson.

After a sing song and Auld Lang Syne, Mary wished everyone a Happy Christmas and a good new year and a safe journey home.

Next meeting is the Scottish Night on January 19.

Mearns Camera Club

Open 3 Competition Results:

Mearns Camera Club’s third Open Competition of the 2015-16 session was judged on Monday Night (January 4) at their weekly meeting in Stonehaven Community Centre. Judge Stewart Dodd MRPS from Dundee, outlined how he marked the images and why he chose the ones he did as winners... He emphasised there were a lot of good images to choose from.

Top results on the night were :-

Projected Digital Image (Intermediate): 3rd ‘Split Apple Rock’ by Bert Droy 17 points, 2nd Sagrada Solitude’ by June Gold 18 points, 1st ‘Loreto Prague’ by June Gold 19 points.

Mono Print (Intermediate): 3rd ‘Towards Fisherfield’ by Ian Lawrence ‘ 13 points, 2nd ‘Daffodil Close Up’ by Graham Greise 15 points, 1st ‘Coire Na Creiche, Dark Clouds’ by Ian Lawrence 17 points.

Coloured Print (Intermediate): 3rd Fading Light’ by Graham Greise 14 points, 2nd Judgement Day by Linda Johnstone 16 points, 1st Loreta Doorway’ by June Gold 17 points.

Projected Digital Image (Advanced): 3rd ‘Mist Rising’ by Iain Wood 18 points, 2nd ‘Leafy Rock’ by Russell Adams 19 points, 1st ‘Take The Rough With The Smooth’ by Mark Richardson 20 points.

Mono Print (Advanced): 3rd ‘Net Casting’ by Alan Gawthorpe 18 points, 2nd ‘In Need of TLC’ by Alan Belton 19 points, 1st ‘Follow The Grain’ by Brian Doyle 20 points.

Coloured Print (Advanced): 3rd ‘Saltmarsh’ by Brian Doyle 18 points, 2nd ‘Seaford Head, East Sussex’ by Mike Reid 19 points, 1st ‘Evening Peace’ by Pat Copner 20 points.

Mike Reid gave Stewart a vote of thanks.