Coalition leaves SNP out in cold

DESPITE securing the highest number of seats in the local elections on May 3, the SNP will not be running Aberdeenshire Council after a coalition deal was struck between the Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and nine of eleven independents and this Alliance is set to take control of the authority.

The Alliance would have 37 seats – enabling them to outvote the SNP’s 28 councillors.

In a statement, Conservative group leader Jim Gifford said they had reached an agreement in principle.

The first meeting of the new Aberdeenshire Council is set to take place today (Thursday) and will see the appointment of Committees, Sub-Committees, Chairs and Vice Chairs, appointments to Statutory Bodies and Internal Meeting Groups taking place.

Previously, Aberdeenshire Council was run by a Liberal Democrat and Conservative coalition, with Lib-Dem leader Anne Robertson sitting as head of the local authority.

Mearns Liberal Democrat councillor Bill Howaston, held the position of Provost of Aberdeenshire. Today’s meetings will decide who will hold these positions under the new regime.

Also, for the first time in its history, Aberdeenshire Council will have two Labour party members among it’s ranks. Councillors Alison Evison and Raymond Christie were elected to the North Kincardine and Stonehaven and Lower Deeside wards respectively.