Design awards entries shortlisted

Aberdeenshire Council has revealed the shortlist of entries to its design awards which features buildings, structures and public art such as the Turra Coo, a bronze cow statue in Turriff and The Eternal Present, two granite spheres in Oldmeldrum.

The shortlist for the Aberdeenshire Design Awards follows an initial round of judging that took place last month, whittling down 106 entries to the 28 projects that will compete for prestigious plaudits over seven categories at a ceremony in September.

The seven categories are Business; Conservation; Craftsmanship; Housing; Public Art; Rural Landscape Development and Sustainability.

Site visits by a judging panel of architects, artists and councilors are scheduled to take place in July who will visit projects spanning the whole area from Fraserburgh to St Cyrus.

Chair of Infrastructure Services Committee Councillor Peter Argyle said: “Aberdeenshire has a rich heritage that is being preserved through craftsmanship of the highest standard with towns and villages being transformed by public art and creative architecture.

“Our awards also celebrate sustainability which is encouraging for the environment too and there are some really exciting projects on the list which I know was hard for the judges to narrow down due to the high standard of entries we received.

”I look forward to the outcome in September and wish all the entrants the best of luck.”

Vice chair Councillor Alan Buchan said: “The Aberdeenshire Design Awards highlight all that is good in our built environment from conservation projects to rural landscapes and even business offices.

”Congratulations go to all of those projects shortlisted.”

President of Aberdeen’s Society of Architects (ASA) Murray Restrup is on the judging panel and said: “The built environment affects everyone and design expertise should be encouraged for the positive impact it brings to Aberdeenshire’s communities.

“I’m looking forward to seeing the shortlisted projects for the Aberdeenshire Design Awards as they highlight the best examples of quality design and craftsmanship across the area.”

A wide variety of schemes have been selected for the judges to visit including Les Enfants Nursery in Inverurie with peek holes and bold colours for children and Hunting Energy Services (UK) Ltd in Portlethen which has used coloured glass within its design.

Within the Rural Landscape Development category is a project to improve Oldmeldrum town centre, also included within Public Art category, for ‘The Eternal Present’ a collection of granite stone spheres situated at the town hall.

‘The Compass’ is shortlisted under Public Art and is a flagstone and sandstone sculpture and the first project of its kind in Westhill.

Winners will be announced on Thursday, September 6. For information on the Aberdeenshire Design Awards Scheme contact Shaun Norman on 01467 628632 or at

The shortlisted designs in the Kincardine and Mearns area are;

Hunting Energy Services (UK) Ltd,

Badentoy Industrial Park, Portlethen Business

The Ice House, St Cyrus Sustainability

Dickson Memorial, Laurencekirk Conservation

Upper Park Cottages, Drumoak Housing

Wester Waterlair, Fordoun Housing