Do you know your constituency?

At this year’s elections to the Scottish Parliament, voters in Aberdeenshire may find they are voting for candidates in new constituencies.

Changes by the Boundary Commission mean that some communities are no longer within the same Scottish Parliamentary consituencies as they had been previously.

The new Aberdeenshire West Constituency replaces the former West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine Scottish Parliamentary Constituency. It has lost Aberdeenshire Ward 17 to the new Aberdeen South and North Kincardine constituency, plus Ward 19 and most of Ward 18 to the Angus North and Mearns constituency.

Returning officer Colin Mackenzie, said: “Recent boundary changes mean that some electors may find themselves in a different voting area from what they have been used to in the past, but each vote is still as crucial as ever and will count just as much towards determining who our elected representatives will be in the Scottish Parliament and who forms the Scottish Government after May 5.”

Information on polling places is included on polling cards for anyone unsure of where to vote, and in what constituency.

Voters can also check the location of their local polling place by going to:

Further information, including maps showing new boundaries, can be obtained from the Boundary Commission at: