Fettercairn WRI

Fettercairn SWRI celebrated their 85th birthday with an evening meal at the Castleton Farm Shop where wonderful food was combined with caring service in pleasant surroundings.

The meeting was also the AGM at which Alison Argo was re-elected as President with a further nine ladies to serve on the committee. The trophies for the winners of the monthly competitions were presented: Allison Cup for most points overall; Morag Christie. Grace Kerr Shield for runner-up; Nancy Brown. Anderson Cup for most entries; Beatrice Hicks. Milne Cup for Flower of the month; Sheena Kelly.

President Alison Argo had one more presentation to make, an Honorary Membership badge to Sheena Kelly who has been a member of the SWRI since 1960 firstly in Fyvie, Aberdeenshire before moving to Fettercairn. Sheena has served on committees regularly during all those years and was a Federation Representative for fifteen of them. She has supported local events and organised teas for thousands. Her patience, talent and skill have won her many prizes throughout the years which she has accepted humbly, constantly encouraging new members to take part. Thanks to Isabel Ritchie and Hilda Murray for keeping the proceedings in line and counting the votes.