K&M head to the polls

Kincardine and Mearns head to the polls today (Thursday, May 5) to decide who will be our MSPs next term.

The Mearns Leader and Kincardineshire Observer will be at the count on Thursday night and we aim to keep you up to date on the latest news from the counts.

This will be the fifth Scottish Parliamentary elections since the Parliament was established back in 1999.

With the Scottish Parliament dissolved at the end of March the campaigning is underway to elect 129 members to the Scottish Parliament.

In the Mearns Leader and Kincardineshire Observer patch there are two constituencies which will be contested. They are Aberdeen South and North Kincardine and North Angus and Mearns.

In both Aberdeen South and North Kincardine and North Angus and Mearns there are four candidates standing for election from Scottish Labour, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party, Scottish National Party and the Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Candidates in Aberdeen South and North Kincardine are: Maureen Watt (SNP), Alison Evision (Scottish Labour), John Waddell (Scottish Liberal Democrats) and Ross Thomson (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party).

In North Angus and Mearns the candidates are: Mairi Evans (SNP), Alex Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party), Euan Davidson (Scottish Liveral Democrats) and John Ruddy (Scottish Labour).

Under the Additional Member System (AMS) used to elect MSPs, voters receive two ballot papers for their constituency vote and regional vote.

In the regional vote, parties have selected their candidates who they would have represent the wider North East of Scotland region.

There are 12 parties who are fielding candidates in the regional vote.

There are eight regions across Scotland that will each elect seven MSPs electing a total of 56 MSPs under the regional list.