Mearns Academy prizewinners

DUX of Mearns Academy this year is Emily Morrison. Emily won the computing studies and mathematics prizes.

Runner-up to the dux was Alisha Mann, joint winner of the Graphic Communication prize. Both Emily and Alisha have returned to school for sixth year.

At the prizegiving in the school last Thursday, the address was by Mr David Nelson, chairman of Mearns Community Council.

His wife Barbara, who is Director of Learning and Teaching at Angus College, presented the prizes.

The evening was chaired by Fergus Mack, chairman of Mearns Academy Community Group and there were musical interludes from Celtic Rock (Jamie McAndrew, Rory Comerford, David Logan and Chris Reid) and from Rory Comerford on classical guitar.

Head Prefect Danielle McNaughton proposed the vote of thanks.


S1: Jean Duff Geography; Ryan Gauld French (joint); Daisy Jack Technical Education; Kirsty McLean Science (joint); Louise Ogilvie Drama; Amber Pithie-Renfrey Science (joint); Eva Reppe-Roverselli French (joint).

Lewis Simpson Mathematics; Laura Blakemore English, Religious and Moral Education; Rachel Howatson History, Home Economics; Lucie Hendry Art & Design, Modern Studies, Music, Comenius; Kirstin Rae Comenius.

Downie Progress Prizes: David Craib, Jack Harrison, Chloe Reid, Sean Thain.

MACG Effort Prizes: Adam McWilliam, Chloe Reid, Rugile Vitunskaite.

S2: Connor Barron Support for Learning (joint); Nikita Brakespear-Sharp Drama; Christie Hair Home Economics; Lyndsey Higgins RME; Aaron Johnstone Support for Learning (joint); Zoe Kirkham-Mowbray Science; Shauna McKeogh Music; Alanah Mills Modern Studies.

Jon Reid English; Cameron Shaw Art & Design; Ashley Spark Technical Education; Samantha Farquharson French, Geography; Gayle Robertson History, Mathematics; Laura Reid Comenius; Vikki Reid Comenius.

Downie Progress Prizes: Samantha Adams, Matthew Robbie, Jessica Rodda, Andrew Rore, Sophie Smillie. MACG Effort Prize: James Tailford.

S3: Sean Anderson Accounting and Finance; Sarah Gillanders Drama; Vanessa Graham Biology (joint); Anna Kramer History; Robbie Martin Angus College Prize; Ross McWilliam Biology (joint); Ellen Rose Administration; Stuart Byres Computing Studies, Physics (joint); Gregor Clyne Georgraphy (joint), RME.

Stephanie Hopkins Business Management, Modern Studies; Ross McLean Geography (joint), Physical Education; Stuart Young Craft & Design, Physics (joint); Naomi Gillies Art & Design, English, French (joint), Graphic Communication; Sarah Brand Chemistry, French (joint), Mathematics, Music, Spanish.

Mark Taylor Support for Learning; Downie Progress Prizes: Lynda McConnach, Chloe Newman, Lewis Wright, Mark Taylor. MACG Effort Prizes: Joe Grimmer, Ellie Patterson, Christina Robertson, Lynne Scorgie.

S4: Alex Comerford Music; Ryan Darar Spanish; Robert Duff Biology; Luke Harris Support for Learning; Kirsty McDonald Drama; Ian Mulcahy Graphic Communication; Holly Rore Art & Design (joint); Hamish Simpson Craft & Design; Jasmine Vinten Art & Design (joint).

Campbell Anderson Computing Studies, Home Economics; Peter Anderson History, Physical Education; Sophie Mathers Accounting & Finance, Business Management; Lewis Shearer Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics; Megan Tailford English, French, Geography; Emma Collier Adminstration, Modern Studies, RME, MACG Effort Prize.

S5/6: Harrison Brown Chemistry (joint); Craig Byres Brian Wood Physics Prize; Erling Garriock Information Systems; Scott Henderson RME (joint); David Logan Music; Findlay Mack French; Alisha Mann Graphic Communication (joint); Blair Miller Geography; James Murray Travel and Tourism.

Hannah Robertson Drama; Craig Scott Product Design; Andrew Shea Physical Education; Katie Shepherd Angus College Prize (Psychology); Emma Smith (Hospitality); Gregor Taylor Chemistry (joint); Bronwyn Thomson Lifestyle and Consumer Technology; Jenna Thomson Practical Craft Skills; Charlotte Wilson Modern Studies; Emily George Administration, RME (Joint).

Nicola McCall Business Management, Graphic Communication (joint); Emily Morrison Computing Studies, Mathematics; Georgia Sim Art & Design, History; Angus Simpson Biology, Charles Michie Science Award.

Sports champions: S1 Boy Callum Bayfield, Girl Rachel Howatson. S2 Scott Donald and Ainsley Walker. S3 Jordan Adamson and Kerry Buchan. Senior Ian Mulcahy/Greg Walker and Zoe Slesser.

John Sinclair Memorial Trophy for outstanding contribution to sport: James Sadio.

House Competitions: Cross Country Shield, Thornton; Athletics, Thornton; Thornton-Kemsley Cup for Inter-house competition, Johnston.

Special Awards: Young Enterprise Award (Distinction) Claire Mottram; Heidi Fish Memorial Award for Performing Arts Hannah Robertson; Prefects of the Year Blair Miller and Douglas Oliver.

Karen Whyte Special Effort Prize Louise Howatson; Trophy for Endeavour Erling Garriock; MACG Citizenship Award Katrina Fotheringham and Charlott Wilson; Sandy Thomson Citizenship Cup Danielle McNaughton; runner-up to Dux Alisha Mann; School Dux Emily Morrison.