Newtonhill pupils reach final

A team of Pupils from Newtonhill primary School have beat off all of the other competition in Aberdeenshire and are heading to the Scottish Parliament after winning a place in the final of the Scottish European Trust’s Euroquiz after.

Sunday, 6th May 2012, 3:29 pm

The team of primary six pupils from Newtonhill primary will be one of thirty primary schools from around Scotland who will take part in the quiz on the Monday 14 May in the Scottish Parliament Debating Chamber.

Euroquiz is a competition for Primary 6 pupils which helps them develop their knowledge of Europe and the European Union, as well as core skills such as communication and teamwork. The final is sponsored by individual donors and Trusts, the European Commission office in Scotland, Ian Hudghton MEP, David Martin MEP, Alyn Smith MEP, Struan Stevenson MEP and Catherine Stihler MEP

The 30 finalist teams will face Quizmaster and Deputy Presiding Officer,Elaine SmithMSP in the Debating Chamber within the Scottish Parliament.The final will be broadcastlive online.

Mrs Cruickshank, Head Teacher at Newtonhill Primary who are representing Aberdeenshire Council, said, “All the pupils, parents and staff at Newtonhill are so proud of the team’s achievement. We know they will enjoy the challenge of taking part in Euroquiz and hope all their hard work pays off. The school will be watching the broadcast live on Monday 14th alongside a visit from Maureen Watt MSP. We hope that everybody throughout the Aberdeenshire will join with us in supporting them.”

P6 pupils and team members, Jasmine Collett and Jamie Innes, said “We are really excited to be representing the whole of Aberdeenshire in Edinburgh. We’ve enjoyed both of the competitions we have won so far and hope all our practise pays off. We are looking forward to being supported by the whole school and will do our very best to win.”