Nominations open for Community Awards

editorial image

Stonehaven and District Community Council are now accepting nominations for the Hannah Dyson award.

The annual Hannah Dyson award is given in memory of Netherley teenager, Hannah Dyson, who passed away in 2005 after a long battle with cystic fibrosis.

The award is presented to a young person for outstanding achievement, excellence or merit.

Last year’s winner was seventeen-year-old Sarah-Louise Milne who was recognised for her volunteering and was described as a “one-girl volunteer centre”.

The award is given to a young person who is under 18 years of age and who has achieved outstanding youth achievement, excellence or merit in a number of different areas.

For the second year running, nominations are also being sought for the Community Award, which is an award presented on behalf of the Community Council, Stonehaven Business association and local churches to someone over 18 years of age who has attained outstanding achievement, excellence or merit in a number of different areas.

The first community award was presented last year and there were so many worthy nominations that the award was presented to three Stonehaven residents; Margaret Edmundson who was awarded for her volunteering, organiser of Kevin’s Day Carol Humphries was recognised for her charity work and Sam Dickinson who was awarded for his academic work and his courage and determination following a car accident which left him in a wheelchair.

After the success of the first year the Community Award has returned and will now become an annual event.

For both awards, areas of excellence include; academic or sporting success, an act of bravery, outstanding caring or community service, special achievement despite limitations imposed by hardship, disability or long term illness or any other appropriate kind of excellence.

The candidates must also have a strong association with Stonehaven.

Nominations should be made in writing, must include a supporting statement and must be submitted by a person not related to the candidate.

The closing date for both awards is December 7, with the winners being announced early next year.

Nominations can be sent to - Stonehaven and District Community Council secretary, Alistair Lawrie, 1 Westfield Avenue, Stonehaven, AB39 2EU or can be emailed to Nomintations must include complete name, address and telephone number/e mail.