Scotland votes No: the official announcement

This week Scots cast their vote in what is considered to be the biggest political event in modern Scottish history.

On Thursday September 18, voters flocked to the polls with high turnouts across the country.

Once the results were in from all 32 counts, Chief Counting Officer Mary Pitcaithly, who is chief executive of Falkirk Council, made the official announcement that Scotland had voted no to independence.

The results saw 45% in favour of independence and 55% against.

Aberdeenshire announced a No vote at 5.55am this morning, whilst Aberdeen City announced their results, also a No majority, at 4.30am.