SNP clear up in Kincardine & Mearns

editorial image

The SNP cleared up in Kincardine and Mearns holding both Aberdeen South and North Kincardine and North Angus and Mearns constituencies.

Maureen Watt and Mairi Evans were both elected in the early hours of Friday morning to represent our areas at the Scottish Parliament.

The results for North Angus and Mearns saw; Miss Evans, SNP, received 13417 votes;

Alex Johnstone, Scottish Conservatives and Unionist Party, 10,945;

John Ruddy, Scottish Labour, 2752;

Euan Davidson, Liberal Democrats, 2265.

NE region list was announced on Friday morning

NE region list was announced on Friday morning

Speaking after the count a jubilant Miss Evans told the Mearns Leader: “It feels incredibly exciting, but nerve-wracking at the same time because it’s such a huge responsibility and there’s a job to get done. I can’t wait to get started, but it is such a huge privilege to be in this position now, it hasn’t quite sunk in yet. It still feels a bit weird.”

In the Aberdeen South and North Kincardine constituency the turnout was 54.38% with 32,471 votes, up from 52.9% in 2011.

The votes were as followed:

Alison Evison 5603

Ross Thomson 10,849

John Waddell 2284

Maureen Watt 13,604

Talking to the Mearns Leader after the vote Maureen Watt said: “Winning a constituency back in 2011 was fantastic but once you win one you always want to come back and win another one.

“I’ve worked really hard for the constituency getting more train stops for Portlethen and funds for Jubilee Hall renovation and these things have greatly benefited the community and I think the result reflects that today.”

In the North East list region announced Friday morning the Conservatives picked up four seats, Labour picked up two seats and the Libersal Democracts picked up one seat.