Thanks from chairman

In his report to the annual meeting of Mearns Community Council, outgoing chairman David Nelson thanked members for their commitment in the past year in what he described as an “onerous task at times.”

“Community councillors work on a voluntary basis. There are critical noises from people who do not involve themselves. These people should get involved and do something about it.

“We try to effect change. We try to hold our elected representatives to account.

“A number of things are done against our wishes. We should be in the driving seat, not the councillors or paid officials, I just wish that were so.

“There is continued procrastination over the A90 junction and a lack of guidance over windfarms, which causes hassle and frustration among the population.

“There are big planning applications on the way, at Edzell Woods and at Laurencekirk and they will all require our input and comment. We must communicate better to properly represent the majority of the community.

“The year ahead will be an interesting and challenging one and I wish the community council all the best as it works for the benefit of the community.”

Provost Bill Howatson took the chair for the election of a new chairman.

After a secret ballot, Mr Jim Stuart, Laurencekirk was elected chairman by 7 votes to 6 over Chris Rushbridge, Marykirk.

Mr Rushbridge is vice-chairman and all the other office-bearers remain the same.