Junior golf prizegiving

Due to the strong winds and heavy showers there again was limited Winter League golf at the weekend. In the singles section there were seventeen scores returned with Captain Mike Rendall and Jim Lonie topping the leaderboard with 37 points. Ivan Groundwater, Frank Urquhart and Derek Freeland were a stroke behind.

Leading singles scores - Mike Rendall(13), Jim Lonie(8) - 37 pts, Ivan Groundwater(16), Frank Urquhart(13), Derek Freeland(13) - 36, Donald Mitchell(13), Ian Smith(8) - 32, Duncan Cursiter(11), George Forrester(13) - 32, George Innes(18), David Henderson(9) - 31, Grant Robb(5), Steve McGhie(5) - 30.

In the doubles section only seven pairings ventured out with Kenny Duncan and Ian Wood winning the scratch section and jointly winning the handicap section with Neil McArthur and Mike Griffin with a gross 67, nett 59.

Scratch scores - Kenny Duncan & Ian wood - 67, Kevin Riddell & Ross McAllan, John Neal & Douglas Henderson - 69.

Handicap scores - Kenny Duncan(5) & Ian Wood(9), Neil McArthur(17) & Mike Griffin(15) - 59, John Neal(14) & Douglas Hendeson(7) - 60, Alister Barnett(13) & Tom Simpson(14) - 64, Kevin Riddell(4) & Ross McAllan(4) - 65, George Deans(17) & Gordon McHardy(11) - 66, Kevin Duguid(11) & Ewen Campbell(11) - 71.

On Sunday the juniors had their prizegiving with Scott Murray home on a winter break from Lee University, Cleveland to collect his junior club championship trophy.

Trophy winners for the 2012 season were: Scratch champion - Scott Murray, runner up - Josh Halliday.

Handicap champion - Josh Halliday, Runner up - Grant Robb; Winter League - Grant Robb, runner up - Kiefer Brown.

Captain’s Prize - Kiefer Brown, runner up - Josh Halliday; Roulston Cup - James Arandia & Mark McIntosh.

Burgess Trophy - Mason Jenkins; Medal Final - Kiefer Brown, runner up - Grant Robb.

Clive Lloyd Trophy - Kiefer Brown; Senior/Junior Foursomes - James & Luis Arandia, runners up - Mason & Paul Jenkins.

Kinnear & Falconer Trophy - Mark McIntosh & Connor Douglas, runners up - Mason Jenkins & Cameron Davidson.

Westland Cup - Kiefer Brown & Josh Halliday, runners up - Mark McIntosh & Cameron Davidson.

Stroke Matchplay - Connor Douglas, runner up - Mason Jenkins; Innes Rosebowl - Mason Jenkins, runner up - Liam Davidson.

Mid Summer Scramble - Scott Murray, Kiefer Brown, Cameron Davidson, Mark McIntosh.

Junior Convener, Neil Irvine, thanked the following for their continued support - ARAMARK Ltd for providing team jumpers, Freeland Freight Services for providing sponsorship and for Kinnear & Falconer for providing golf balls for the pennant team. Neil also thanked Willie Donald for all his help during the season.

While playing in a recent winter league competition junior member Josh Halliday had a hole in one at the 7th hole using a 9 iron. Scott Murray and Kiefer Brown were there to witness the strike.