Mark in Scotland victory

A local badminton player was competing south of the border. Matthew Duguid, Mackie Academy, performed exceptionally well throughout to reach the final of the Warwickshire U14 Rising Stars event, a great achievement at this stage in the season.

David Blacklaw and Sam Muir, both Mackie Academy were also in action at the East Lothian U14 where they won the consolation doubles event.

Mark Leith, Mackie Academy, was also in action last weekend at the Four Nations International Quadrangular event at the Badminton Academy, Scotstoun, where he was part of the winning Scottish team who claimed victory with wins of 7–2 against Wales and Ireland and in their last match 6–3 against England. Mark clinched victory over England’s Max Flynn, to put Scotland 5–2 up and secure overall victory.

Mark also reached the semi-final of all three individual events with partners Alex Dunn in the doubles and Julie Macpherson in the mixed doubles. Alex went on to lift the singles title, and Julie the doubles title with Sarah Findlay, having narrowly lost out to team mate Holly Newall in the singles final. The team victory and three individual golds for Scotland was a superb performance all round.

Banchory Sports Centre was the venue for the 2012 Badminton Sportshall Challenge when eight teams from primary schools throughout Aberdeenshire South competed for the McGarry Trophy. The competition arranged jointly by Active Schools & Active Aberdeenshire engages P3-5 pupils in fun activities providing an introduction to the skills of badminton and developing their movement and hand eye co-ordination.

The schools who qualified through the cluster rounds to take part in the regional final were Catterline, Bervie, Mill O’Forest, Auchenblae, Redmyre & St Cyrus, Lumphanan & Kincardine O’Neil. All pupils had received in school time coaching sessions which prepared them well for the competition.

The competition provided two hours of constant activity and the teams showed off their skills effectively. Mill O’ Forest Primary, winners in 2011 managed to successfully retain the trophy with a magnificent display of teamwork and ability. Runners-up place was very close with Catterline edging St Cyrus by only two points.