A busy weekend of golf

Scott Trophy Team
Scott Trophy Team

Taking centre stage last weekend was the Scott Trophy, an inter-team tournament played out by teams from all over Deeside.

Owing to a rearranged date being required for fog three weeks ago, the field was down in numbers but certainly not in quality with last year’s winners Portlethen and the always strong scratch Banchory team joining Auchenblae and Stonehaven in Sunday’s competition.

It was the home team consisting of three past champions who kept the trophy at Stonehaven, winning it for the first time since 2007.

Current champion Kevin Riddell returned to form to produce the home team’s lowest score of 66 this was one more than Portlethen’s Ben Murray who won the Barclay Harvey Trophy for the lowest individual score on the day.

Past Champions Neil Irvine and Bruce Ferguson scored 67 and 69 respectively with fourth man Gary Graham scoring a 72 for a combined total of 274. Six shots was the margin over their nearest rivals Portlethen who were one shot better than Banchory. Auchenblae’s combined four man team tally came to 316.

Individual scores - 1. Stonehaven 274, K.Riddell 66, N.Irvine 67, B.Ferguson 69, G.Graham 72; 2. Portlethen 280, B.Murray 65, R.Donaldson 67, N.Mackie 72, K.Spence 76; 3. Banchory 281, M.Gordon 69, C.Lindsay 69, A.Ramage 71, R.Black 72; 4. Auchenblae 316, E.Duthie 77, P.Sinclair 78, B.Cattanach 78, A.Cruickshank 83.

Stonehaven’s four-round Handicap Trophy required a play off on Monday with three players tying on net 258 after the final round last Friday evening. It was youth that prevailed with Craig Irvine carding a nett 62 to win the trophy, this was two shots better than Steve Guzik, Neil MacArthur was six shots further back on a net 70.

June’s Innes medal qualifiers were Brian Hunter, David Hepburn and Scott Crabb who all won their respective handicap sections and qualify for the final on Saturday September 13.

Brian Hunter also qualifies for the Captains cup played on the same day having the lowest gross score of 64. The best 16 scratch scores also made it through to the knock out rounds of the DF Leslie shield and the draw sheet is now on the notice board.