Laurencekirk Bowling Club Gala

Gala Princess and attendants with bowling winners.
Gala Princess and attendants with bowling winners.
Share this article

The final event of the Laurencekirk Gala took place last Sunday, July 20, when 40 competitors from local clubs, and further afield, took part.

In contrast to the previous day, fine weather prevailed, and, after an afternoon of very competitive bowling, Laurencekirk bowlers Isobel Smith and Doug Henderson contested the final, with Doug winning narrowly by five shots to three.

The competition was opened, and prizes awarded, by the Gala Princess, Sarah Slessor, and her attendants, Hannah Mitchell and Joan Dangana.

The Gala Princess and attendants are pictured casting the first jack of the day, and also with the winner, runner up and Club President, Betty Richie.