Tigers roar into action

60 youth riders competed at the event
60 youth riders competed at the event

Knockburn Loch was Saturday’s venue for the Grampian Tigers’ Dirt Crit race which saw almost 60 riders compete in five age categories.

With entrants from clubs around the North-east - including Ythan QL, Aberdeen Wheelers, Deeside Thistle CC and Grampian Tigers - it was a fast-paced day for riders from five – 16 years old, both new to competitive riding and experienced racers alike.

Prize Winners at the clubs first event

Prize Winners at the clubs first event

A team of volunteers from Grampian Tigers and other local clubs worked hard to to ensure things ran smoothly on the day and Bike Remedy, Stonehaven, kindly provided prizes.

Race organiser Colin Sim said, “It was great to see such a range of riders pushing themselves, all with smiles and in a safe and fun environment. We hope to encourage more children who are keen to start racing and meeting other cyclists from the region to take part in these events.”

Grampian Tigers have been fortunate to secure sponsorship from Cambla, without which the race would not have been possible.

Alexander MacLeod from Cambla, said: “It was great to see so many kids out enjoying the racing in the North-east and I hope that the Grampian Tigers and other Aberdeenshire clubs can continue to run these events in the future to encourage more youngsters into the sport”

The race marked a celebration of the first successful year of coaching for the Stonehaven branch of Grampian Tigers who will finish the weekly coaching sessions at the end of November with an off-season break until Spring.

Following the success of Saturday’s race the club plan to host others next year as part of a race series with other Aberdeenshire clubs. The next race at Knockburn is the Scottish Cyclo Cross Championship on the December 7.

Final results

E1 Under 6 - 1 Melanie Rowe Ythan QL, 2 Ruaridh Kent Grampian Tigers, 3 Oliver 

E2 Under 8 1 Sam Horell Ythan QL, 2 Ranolph Whitehead Bike Station Ballater, 3 Reubens McLeod Grampian Tigers, 1st Girl Islay Pearson, Deeside Thistle.

D under 10 - 1 Elliot Rowe (E) Ythan QL, 2 Tom Horell Ythan QL, 3 Marlon Whitehead Bike Station Ballater, 1st Girl Abbey Lindsay Grampian Tigers.

C under 12 - 1 Daniel Kain Ythan QL, 2 Lucas Whitehead Bike Station Ballater, 3 Alexander MacLeod Grampian Tigers.

 B under 14 - 1 Callum Cooper (C) Ythan QL, 2 Struan Pryde (B) Deeside Thistle, 3 Euan Kininmonth (B) Grampian Tigers.

A under 16 - 1 Lewis Webster (A) Aberdeen Wheelers, 2 Callum Murdoch (A) Aberdeen Wheelers.